Fernand J. Prevost Mathematics Teaching Award


Nominees are being sought for the annual FERNAND J. PREVOST MATHEMATICS TEACHING AWARD. NHTM is presenting the award in recognition of the contribution that Ferd has made to the mathematics educators of New Hampshire during his thirty years as the state mathematics consultant. The award is being given to a beginning teacher in her/his first through fifth year who meets the following criteria which exemplify the characteristics which Ferd has brought to his teaching:

  • commitment to good mathematics

  • confidence that all children can learn

  • a spirit of self reflection and professional curiosity

  • caring and concern for colleagues

  • a willingness to explore, to learn, and to grow as a teacher of mathematics

  • a willingness to share mathematical and pedagogical activities with others

 The recipient will receive a plaque of achievement, a $250 prize, and a one year membership to NHTM. The  presentation of the award will be made at the NHTM Spring Conference.

 The 2019 Prevost Award Nomination Form is found by clicking Prevost Award Nomination Form or obtained by sending a request to Sharon McCrone at postsecondaryrep@nhmathteachers.org.

   Nominations are due by December 14, 2018


     Contact Sharon McCrone for more information at postsecondaryrep@nhmathteachers.org

     View the 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Cover Form: 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Cover Form.

     View the 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Application Procedure: 2019 Prevost Award Nominee Application Procedure.


  Completed Nomination Packets must be received by January 16, 2019

       Send to: 

       Sharon McCrone

       Department of Mathematics and Statistics

       33 Academic Way - Kingsbury Hall


       Durham, NH 03824

       Or email directly to: postsecondaryrep@nhmathteachers.org


Past recipients:

   1995 Toni Taylor, Keene High School

   1996 Kim Knighton, Profile School

   1997 Delia LeFebrvre, Monroe Elem. Sch.

   1998 Richard T. Elliot, Fall Mountain Regional

   1999 Megan Fowler, Brattleboro MS

   2000 Leah Adamowicz, Hollis Brookline JHS

   2001 Cynthia Sanschagrin, Hanover High School

   2002 Marina J. Capen from Souhegan High School

   2003 Adam Wiggan, Cooperative Middle School, Stratham

   2004 Anne Boisvert, Manchester Memorial High School

   2005 Craig Sheil, Monadnock Regional High School

   2006 April M. Guinness, Mascoma Valley Regional High School

   2007 Brian O'Connell, Oyster River High School

   2008 Andrea Drake, Goffstown High School

   2009 Scott Currier, Belmont High School

   2010 Jarrod Shaheen, Lebanon High School

   2011 Amanda Benware, Bedford High School

   2012 Sarah Spears, Alton Central School

   2013 Pat Marquette, Hollis Brookline Middle School

   2014 No Award Given

   2015 Nathan Bracy, Goffstown High School

   2016 Stefan Fritz, Bedford High School

   2017 Elisabeth Murphy, Henry Moore School

   2018 Dominick Torro, Pinkerton Academy


Fernand J. Prevost Mathematics Teaching Award 

This year’s Prevost award winner is Dominick Torro of Pinkerton Academy, Derry, NH. All members of the Prevost Award committee were impressed with the Creativity, Professionalism, Leadership, and Care for All Students that Dominick has demonstrated after only 2 years as a teacher of mathematics. To sum it up, one of his colleagues wrote: Dominick’s “years in teaching may be few, but his accomplishments so far have shown that he truly has a gift... he is the vision of what we want all of our mathematics teachers to be.”


HONORABLE MENTION for the Prevost Award goes to Subhadra Srinivasan of Hanover High School.


© NH Teachers of Mathematics
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software